California Citizens Redistricting Commission 721 Capitol Mall, Suite 260 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear California Citizens Redistricting Commission:

As Councilmembers in the City of Santa Clara, we are aware of the central placement our city holds in the 17th Congressional District, the only minority-majority district in the country. Our city is home to many tech companies and community-wide events, including the Silicon Valley Technology Innovation & Entrepreneurship Forum, Silicon Valley International Invention Festival, Art and Wine Festival, and United We Stand rallies against the recent spike in anti-Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) hate crimes.

Santa Clara is home to hundreds of tech startups and thousands of workers, drawing in thousands of employees from surrounding cities who work in Santa Clara. As a result, Santa Clara must ensure that the infrastructure to handle the increased traffic each day from surrounding cities. Santa Clara residents, nearly 75% of whom drive alone to work, spend an average of 23 minutes commuting to work.

Many Santa Clara residents rely on public transit and affordable housing. 34,000 homes have been built with assistance from federal funding, yet tens of thousands of more families seek assistance. However, those who cannot find homes often do not have means of personal transportation either, therefore forcing the homeless population to solely rely on public transit as a way to get to shelters or kitchens.

The issues facing Santa Clara are not unique. Many of the issues Santa Clara faces are also found in and can be resolved by working with surrounding cities. Resolving these issues requires cooperation not only between local leaders and officials, but federal backing as well.

Therefore, it is our recommendation that Santa Clara continues to stay in the same congressional district as Fremont, Milpitas, Newark, North San Jose, and Sunnyvale.

Respectfully,

Lisa M. Gillmor, Mayor
Kathy Watanabe, Councilmember, District 1
Raj Chahal, Councilmember, District 2
Karen Hardy, Councilmember, District 3
Kevin Park, Councilmember, District 4
Sudhanshu "Suds" Jain, Councilmember, District 5
Anthony J. Becker, Councilmember, District 6