Excerpt of Planning Commission Meeting Minutes of August 14, 2019 2892 Sycamore Way

2. 19-857 Action on Appeal of Architectural Committee Approval for the Property at 2892 Sycamore Way

Recommendation: 1. Sustain the appeal and modify the decision of the Architectural Committee on June 19, 2019 to allow five bedrooms and four and half bathrooms with an exterior access for Bedroom #1.

Chair Becker and Commissioner Kelly abstained from Item 2 having voted on this item at a previous Architectural Committee Meeting, Commissioner Ikezi abstained due to the proximity of the project to her residence.

Applicant Lei Xiu spoke.

Public Speakers were called to to speak. All speakers were neighbors and not in favor of the project due to ongoing disturbances in the neighborhood from tenants at the home.

Public Speakers:

Shellie Woodworth Margie Bauman Joe Garcia Mary Smoker Mike Fales Jeff Smoker Paul Creger Eleanor Creger

A motion was made by Commissioner Jain, seconded by Commissioner Cherukuru to close public hearing.

Aye: 4 - Commissioner Jain, Vice Chair Saleme, Commissioner Biagini, and Commissioner Cherukuru

A motion was made by Commissioner Jain, seconded by Commissioner Biagini to overrule the appeal and uphold the Architectural Committee Approval.

The motion failed.

Aye: 2 - Commissioner Jain, and Commissioner Biagini
Nay: 2 - Vice Chair Saleme, and Commissioner Cherukuru

Abstained: 3 - Commissioner Kelly, Commissioner Ikezi, and Chair Becker

A motion was made by Commissioner Cherukuru, seconded by Commissioner Saleme to sustain the appeal with additional condition with approval to add inspection upon 2 years of receiving Certificate of Occupancy and that the master bedroom door on the first floor would be a non-keyed door from the outside. The motion failed.

Aye: 3 - Commissioner Jain, Vice Chair Saleme, and Commissioner

Cherukuru

Nay: 1 - Commissioner Biagini

Abstained: 3 - Commissioner Kelly, Commissioner Ikezi, and Chair Becker

A motion was made by Commissioner Jain, seconded by Commissioner Cherukuru that this item be moved to City Council Agenda with no recommendation from the Planning Commission.

Aye: 4 - Commissioner Jain, Vice Chair Saleme, Commissioner Biagini, and

Commissioner Cherukuru

Abstained: 3 - Commissioner Kelly, Commissioner Ikezi, and Chair Becker