

City of Santa Clara

Meeting Minutes City Council Special Meeting

04/01/2019

5:00 PM

City Hall Council Chambers 1500 Warburton Avenue Santa Clara, CA 95050

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that, pursuant to the provisions of California Government Code §54956 ("The Brown Act") and Section 708 of the Santa Clara City Charter, the Mayor calls for a Special Meeting of the City Council of the City of Santa Clara to commence and convene on April 1, 2019, at 5:00 PM for a Special Meeting in the City Hall Council Chambers located in the East Wing of City Hall at 1500 Warburton Avenue, Santa Clara, California, to consider the following matter(s) and to potentially take action with respect to them.

5:00 PM COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING

Call to Order

Mayor Gillmor called the Special Meeting to order at 5:05 PM.

Pledge of Allegiance and Statement of Values

Roll Call

Present: 6 - Councilmember Teresa O'Neill, Councilmember Kathy Watanabe,

Councilmember Karen Hardy, Councilmember Debi Davis, Councilmember Raj Chahal, and Mayor Lisa M. Gillmor

Absent: 1 - Vice Mayor Patricia M. Mahan

A motion was made by Councilmember O'Neill, seconded by Councilmember Hardy, to excuse Vice Mayor Mahan from the meeting.

Aye: 6 - Councilmember O'Neill, Councilmember Watanabe, Councilmember Hardy,

Councilmember Davis, Councilmember Chahal, and Mayor Gillmor

Absent: 1 - Vice Mayor Mahan

PUBLIC PRESENTATIONS

None.

INTERVIEWS

1. <u>19-197</u> Action on Appointment to fill a partial term on the Planning Commission ending June 30, 2022

Recommendation: Alternatives 1& 2:

1. Appoint one candidate to the Planning Commission to serve a partial term ending June 30, 2022; and

2. Establish an eligibility list that may be used to fill vacancies that may occur during the 12 months after establishing the list.

Applicant(s): Nancy Biagini Tahir Naim

Rich Brunner, Jr. John Padilla Jayapriya Cherukuru Srdjan Pantic

Suzanne Decker Kirankumar Shinde
MV Kumar Keith Stattenfield
Edward Liang Vandana Upadhyay
Vicente Lovelace Megan Swartzwelder

Ashish Mangla

A motion was made by Councilmember Davis, seconded by Councilmember Hardy, to set the voting process: (1) each Councilmember will cast one vote each for their desired four applicants to narrow down to the top four candidates and (2) Council may make a motion for the top vote-getter.

Aye: 6 - Councilmember O'Neill, Councilmember Watanabe, Councilmember Hardy, Councilmember Davis, Councilmember Chahal, and Mayor

Gillmor

Excused: 1 - Vice Mayor Mahan

After the interviews, Councilmembers voted for their top applicants. Each Councilmember casted four votes. There were four applicants that tied as the top vote getters:

Nancy Biagini Jayapriya Cherukuru Megan Swartzwelder Vandana Upadhyay

Each Councilmember casted two votes. There were two applicants that tied with four votes:

Nancy Biagini Jayapriya Cherukuru

Each Councilmember casted one vote.

The top vote-getter:

Nancy Biagini

A motion was made by Councilmember Davis, seconded by Councilmember O'Neill, to appoint Nancy Biagini to the Planning Commission to fill a partial term ending June 30, 2022.

Aye: 6 - Councilmember O'Neill, Councilmember Watanabe, Councilmember Hardy, Councilmember Davis, Councilmember Chahal, and Mayor Gillmor

Excused: 1 - Vice Mayor Mahan

A motion was made by Councilmember Davis, seconded by Councilmember Hardy, to (1) establish an Eligibiity List effective for one year in case a vacancy occurs, which allows applicants on the Eligibility List to return to Council for interviews and (2) set the Eligibility List as 1. Jayapriya Cherukuru, 2. Vandana Upadhyay and 3. Megan Swartzwelder.

Aye: 5 - Councilmember O'Neill, Councilmember Watanabe, Councilmember Hardy, Councilmember Davis, and Mayor Gillmor

Nay: 1 - Councilmember Chahal

Excused: 1 - Vice Mayor Mahan

REPORTS OF MEMBERS AND SPECIAL COMMITTEES

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 9:37 PM.

A motion was made by Councilmember Davis, seconded by Councilmember Watanabe, to adjourn the meeting.

Aye: 6 - Councilmember O'Neill, Councilmember Watanabe, Councilmember Hardy, Councilmember Davis, Councilmember Chahal, and Mayor Gillmor

Excused: 1 - Vice Mayor Mahan

The next regular scheduled meeting is on Tuesday evening, April 9, 2019 in the City Hall Council Chambers.

MEETING DISCLOSURES

The time limit within which to commence any lawsuit or legal challenge to any quasi-adjudicative decision made by the City is governed by Section 1094.6 of the Code of Civil Procedure, unless a shorter limitation period is specified by any other provision. Under Section 1094.6, any lawsuit or legal challenge to any quasi-adjudicative decision made by the City must be filed no later than the 90th day following the date on which such decision becomes final. Any lawsuit or legal challenge, which is not filed within that 90-day period, will be barred. If a person wishes to challenge the nature of the above section in court, they may be limited to raising only those issues they or someone else raised at the meeting described in this notice, or in written correspondence delivered to the City of Santa Clara, at or prior to the meeting. In addition, judicial challenge may be limited or barred where the interested party has not sought and exhausted all available administrative remedies.

AB23 ANNOUNCEMENT: Members of the Santa Clara Stadium Authority, Sports and Open Space Authority and Housing Authority are entitled to receive \$30 for each attended meeting.

Note: The City Council and its associated Authorities meet as separate agencies but in a concurrent manner. Actions taken should be considered actions of only the identified policy body.

LEGEND: City Council (CC); Stadium Authority (SA); Sports and Open Space Authority (SOSA); Housing Authority (HA); Successor Agency to the City of Santa Clara Redevelopment Agency (SARDA)

Public contact was made by posting the Council agenda on the City's official-notice bulletin board outside City Hall Council Chambers. A complete agenda packet is available on the City's website and in the City Clerk's Office at least 72 hours prior to a Regular Meeting and 24 hours prior to a Special Meeting. A hard copy of any agenda report may be requested by contacting the City Clerk's Office at (408) 615-2220, email clerk@santaclaraca.gov <mailto:clerk@santaclaraca.gov or at the public information desk at any City of Santa Clara public library.

If a member of the public submits a speaker card for any agenda items, their name will appear in the Minutes. If no speaker card is submitted, the Minutes will reflect "Public Speaker."

ATTEST:

Assistant City Clerk

APPROVE:

Mayor