

# City of Santa Clara

1500 Warburton Avenue Santa Clara, CA 95050 santaclaraca.gov @SantaClaraCity

## Agenda Report

20-722 Agenda Date: 9/29/2020

#### REPORT TO COUNCIL

### <u>SUBJECT</u>

Action on Appointment of Youth Commissioners for the FY2020/21 Term [Council Pillar: Enhance Community Engagement and Transparency]

#### **BACKGROUND**

The Youth Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the City Council and makes recommendations on matters pertaining to the Santa Clara youth and teen population, especially as it relates to municipal programs and City projects, and is under supervision of a staff liaison from the Parks & Recreation Department and designated by the City Manager. The Youth Commission was established in 1995 by Ordinance 1673, with eligibility criteria, powers and responsibilities outlined in Resolution No. 6047. The candidate selection and recommendation processes were updated in 2019 under Resolution No. 19-8706.

#### **DISCUSSION**

As of August 2020, there are ten (10) returning Youth Commissioners eligible to be reappointed, five (5) Youth Commission vacancies, and two (2) alternate positions to be filled by Council appointment.

On July 11 and 18, 2020, 33 candidates for the City of Santa Clara Youth Commission were interviewed by a selection panel comprised of the Commission's Staff Liaison, a Parks & Recreation Department supervisor, and the outgoing Youth Commission Chairperson in accordance with the approved process. The applicants were screened for the eligibility criteria and then evaluated on how well they would represent the City's youth and teen population on the Youth Commission.

Following the interview process, the selection panel recommends reappointment of the ten (10) eligible returning commissioners, appointment of five (5) of the eligible candidates to serve on the Commission, and the naming of two (2) candidates to be conditionally appointed as Commission alternates. Alternate members are not voting members of the Commission but will attend meetings and assume a position on the Commission should a Youth Commissioner be unable to complete their term. Each Commissioner will serve a one-year term beginning in September 2020 and ending in May 2021. Each candidate recommended for appointment meets the requirements of a City of Santa Clara resident ages 12-19.

Table 1 below contains a list of candidates recommended for appointment to the FY2020/21 Youth Commission:

(a) Returning Commissioners from 2019/20 term eligible for reappointment for FY2020/21 term		
Name	Grade	School Entering Fall of 202
Aarva Gupta	9	Bellarmine College Preparato
Ahmad Ismail	11	Wilcox High School
Jasmine Kelly-Tanti	10	Santa Clara High School
Adrianne Krivokapic-Zhuo	12	Santa Clara High School
Colin Lim	12	BASIS Independent Silicon V
Kayla Phan	12	Santa Clara High School
Kavya Sriram	11	Wilcox High School
Smrithi Suresh	12	Wilcox High School
Natasha Yen	12	The Harker School
Amy Zuo	12	Lynbrook High School
(b) Candidates Recomme	nded for Appointm	ent for 2020/21 Term
Khadeejah Khan	9	Santa Clara High School
Rajvi Khanjan Shroff	10	Cupertino High School
Riya Mehta	11	Santa Clara High School
Palak Parikh	11	Wilcox High School
Sarah Zuo	9	Cupertino High School
(c) Candidates Recomme	nded as Conditiona	al Alternates for 2020/21
Kaitlyn Butcher	11	Santa Clara High School
Mitali Gaidhani	11	Cupertino High School

#### **FISCAL IMPACT**

Staff support, Commissioner training and meeting expenses are the only fiscal impacts relating to the approval of appointments to the Youth Commission for the 2020/21 term.

#### **PUBLIC CONTACT**

Public contact was made by posting the Council agenda on the City's official-notice bulletin board outside City Hall Council Chambers. A complete agenda packet is available on the City's website and in the City Clerk's Office at least 72 hours prior to a Regular Meeting and 24 hours prior to a Special Meeting. A hard copy of any agenda report may be requested by contacting the City Clerk's Office at (408) 615-2220, email <a href="mailto:clerk@santaclaraca.gov">clerk@santaclaraca.gov</a>.

#### RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the City Council take the following actions related to the FY2020/21 Youth Commission: a) reappoint Aarva Gupta, Ahmad Ismail, Jasmine Kelly-Tanti, Adrianne Krivokapic-Zhuo, Colin Lim, Kayla Phan, Kavya Sriram, Smrithi Suresh, Natasha Yen, Amy Zuo as Commission members; b) appoint Khadeejah Khan, Rajvi Khanjan Shroff, Riya Mehta, Palak Parikh, Sarah Zuo as Commission members and c) appoint Kaitlyn Butcher and Mitali Gaidhani as conditional alternates.

20-722 Agenda Date: 9/29/2020

Reviewed by: James Teixeira, Director, Parks & Recreation Department

Approved by: Deanna J. Santana, City Manager