

Agenda Report

# 18-459

Agenda Date: 5/22/2018

# REPORT TO COUNCIL

# <u>SUBJECT</u>

Recognition of Outgoing Youth Commission Members

## BACKGROUND

The City of Santa Clara Youth Commission was established in 1995 to act in an advisory capacity to City Council to provide relevant insight regarding youth and teen issues in the community. Since its inception, the 15-member Youth Commission has accomplished goals that provide a youth perspective and voice as well as opportunities for civic engagement, service, leadership training and peer support as well as recommendations for new City facilities and programs that support an active and healthy youth population.

### DISCUSSION

The Youth Commissioners to receive recognition are:

|    | <u>Name</u>         | Years of Service |
|----|---------------------|------------------|
| 1. | Nithyashri Baskaran | 3                |
| 2. | lcko Iben           | 2                |
| 3. | Ahmed Iftekhar      | 2                |
| 4. | Alicia Luong        | 3                |
| 5. | Jill Mangawang      | 1                |
| 6. | Pyper Olsen         | 2                |
| 7. | Catherine Petersen  | 3                |
|    |                     |                  |

The Youth Commission will present a certificate in recognition of service to seven (7) outgoing members of the 2017-18 City of Santa Clara Youth Commission.

### ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW

The action being considered does not constitute a "project" within the meaning of the California Environmental Quality Act ("CEQA") pursuant to CEQA Guidelines section 15378(a) as it has no potential for resulting in either a direct physical change in the environment, or a reasonably foreseeable indirect physical change in the environment.

# PUBLIC CONTACT

Public contact was made by posting the Council agenda on the City's official-notice bulletin board outside City Hall Council Chambers. A complete agenda packet is available on the City's website and in the City Clerk's Office at least 72 hours prior to a Regular Meeting and 24 hours prior to a Special Meeting. A hard copy of any agenda report may be requested by contacting the City Clerk's Office at (408) 615-2220, email <u>clerk@santaclaraca.gov <mailto:clerk@santaclaraca.gov></u> or at the public information desk at any City of Santa Clara public library.

Reviewed by: James Teixeira, Director, Parks & Recreation Department Approved by: Deanna J. Santana, City Manager