City of Santa Clara logo

Legislative Public Meetings

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 19-1264    Version: 1 Name:
Type: Consent Calendar Status: Agenda Ready
File created: 10/24/2019 In control: Council and Authorities Concurrent Meeting
On agenda: 12/3/2019 Final action: 12/3/2019
Title: Action on Appointment of Members to the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Attachments: 1. Application - Anthony Carnesecca, 2. Application - Betsy Megas, 3. Application - Diane Harrison, 4. Application_ Frank Kim, 5. Application - Mercedes Mack, 6. Application - Yury Perzov
Action on Appointment of Members to the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee

The Bicycle Advisory Committee (BAC) was established by City Council in May 1991 to act as an advisory body to City Council for the development of safe bicycle lanes on City streets. In March 2014, by City Council action, the BAC's name and role was changed to become the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC). It is a committee composed of nine members and is presently chaired by Councilmember Karen Hardy, with Councilmember Raj Chahal as the alternate. The BPAC represents a cross section of Santa Clara's bicycling and pedestrian community, contributing their knowledge to the City regarding bicycle and pedestrian-related issues and projects.

Members serve for three-year terms with the option to apply for additional terms. The terms for members Diane Harrison, Craig Larsen, and Rafael Rius expire on December 31, 2019, and only member Harrison indicated that she was interested in serving another term. The upcoming openings on the BPAC were advertised on the City's website, the City Manager's Bi-weekly Blog, social media, the City's channel 15, and the Silicon Valley Bicycle Coalition's social media channels to allow potential candidates to apply for membership. Six membership applications were received. The applicants are Anthony Carnesecca, Betsy Megas, Diane Harrison, Frank Kim, Mercedes Mack, and Yury Perzov (Attachments 1 through 6). At the October 28, 2019 BPAC meeting, Committee members voted to recommend to the City Council that Betsy Megas, Diane Harrison, and Yury Perzov be appointed to serve three-year terms expiring on December 31, 2022. This process is based on the past practice of the BPAC accepting applications and advising Council on the appointment of new members.

The action being considered does not constitute a "project" within the meaning of the California Env...

Click here for full text