City of Santa Clara logo

Legislative Public Meetings

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 20-1392    Version: 1 Name:
Type: Consent Calendar Status: Agenda Ready
File created: 11/25/2019 In control: Council and Authorities Concurrent Meeting
On agenda: 1/14/2020 Final action: 1/14/2020
Title: Action on Annual Appointment of Vice Mayor and Chaplain [Council Pillar: Enhance Community Engagement and Transparency]
Attachments: 1. Resolution No. 19-8650, 2. Letter from Mayor Lisa M. Gillmor, 3. Resolution No. 18-8637, 4. Letter from Mayor Lisa M. Gillmor
Action on Annual Appointment of Vice Mayor and Chaplain [Council Pillar: Enhance Community Engagement and Transparency]
On January 15, 2019, the City Council adopted Resolution No. 19-8650 (Resolution) establishing, pursuant to Section 705 of the City Charter, a procedure for selection of Vice Mayor and selection of a Chaplain of the City Council by majority vote of a quorum of the City Council. The Resolution is attached as Attachment 1.

Per the Resolution, the selection is scheduled to take place at a City Council meeting in January each year. The Resolution also states that the Vice Mayor shall be the Councilmember with the highest seniority in consecutive years on the Council and who has not previously served as Vice Mayor. The resolution further states that, if two or more Councilmembers have the same seniority in number of years served on the City Council, the Vice Mayor selected will be the Councilmember who received the most votes in the most recent council election. The Councilmember serving as Chaplain will be the most recent outgoing Vice Mayor.

Vice Mayor Patricia M. Mahan is the most recent outgoing Vice Mayor. In Mayor Lisa M. Gillmor's letter to the City Council (Attachment 2), she recommends the City Council appoint Vice Mayor Mahan to the position of Chaplain until the appointment of a successor Chaplain in January 2021.

The Councilmembers with the most consecutive years on the City Council are Councilmembers Debi Davis and Teresa O'Neill, who both started serving on the Council in 2012. The table below identifies the Councilmembers who have served as Vice Mayor since 2012.

Vice Mayor
Calendar Year
Lisa M. Gillmor
Patrick Kolstad
Jerry Marsalli
Debi Davis
Teresa O'Neill
Dominic Caserta
Kathy Watanabe
Patricia M. Mahan

As both Councilmember Karen Hardy and Councilmember Raj Chahal have not yet served as Vice Mayor and have the same seniori...

Click here for full text